Tuesday, January 12, 2016

Cross-media awards

I didn't realize this: the Writers Guild of America awards an annual honor to writers of videogames: 2016 Writers Guild Awards Videogame Writing Nominations Announced

The WGA’s Videogame Writing Award honors the best qualifying script from a videogame published in the previous year.


The Writers Guild Awards honor outstanding writing in film, television, new media, videogames, news, radio, promotional, and graphic animation categories. Competitive awards will be presented at both the Los Angeles ceremony at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza and the New York ceremony at the Edison Ballroom. The Los Angeles and New York ceremonies take place concurrently on February 13, 2016.

Oh, and yes, the honorees?

Assassin’s Creed Syndicate, Pillars of Eternity, Rise of the Tomb Raider and The Witcher III: Wild Hunt have been nominated for the WGA’s Videogame Writing Award.

Well, I can vouch for the fact that two of them, for sure, have extremely good scriptwriters. In fact, the writing in Pillars of Eternity is so good that I might actually have to admit that there's a possibly a potential category where some other video game might just slightly have outdone The Witcher.


No comments:

Post a Comment